Ford, Lincoln, Mercury Tech Automotive Related Topics Only !

grey cap by dis to adjust timing?? ne one hurd of this

Old 01-22-2005, 03:21 PM
stock :-\

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default grey cap by dis to adjust timing?? ne one hurd of this

its a greyish cap on a wire right by the distributor. Someguy i was talking cars with brought it up and how u have to disconnect it to "really" adjust ur timing the right way. He said u unplug it, adjust ur timing, plug it back in, then start the car and check ur # of degrees? Ne one ever heard of this? i know i havent. I just started the car loosend the dis. and used a gun to set the # of degrees? isnt that how its done?

idk ive never changed timing before im new to it lol. feel free to leave ur .02
Old 01-22-2005, 05:41 PM
torque on tap

Yeah, that's called the "Spout." Basically, the ECU has preset timing tables that it refers to when adjusting timing advance, but it must rely on a mechanically-set "base" timing. This is a "locked" amount of timing that the ECU uses to base it's changes on. As long as the "Spout" connector is installed, the ECU is free to make timing adjustments. However, you can pull the Spout out and lock in a certain amount of base timing, such as 20ยบ. This means that the engine will always run with that amount of timing advance, because that is the locked amount of base timing and the ECU can not use its tables to change timing values. You must remove the Spout to properly adjust base timing, which is turn adjusts overall timing based upon the ECU's tables when the Spout is reinstalled.