Honda/Acura Tech Honda tech discussion.

Wiring Disaster

Old 11-14-2011, 11:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wiring Disaster

Hey guys, I'm new to TR and have a major wiring mess that I need help figuring out. I recently purchased a 94 Integra not knowing the guy had rigged every electrical component in the car. The dash instrument lights don't work. The a/c lights, cigarette lighter, and clock don't work. The stereo doesn't work either. From what I can tell, the wiring harness that goes to the back of the head unit has multiple shorted wires (the worst one being the red wire....melted, black, and bubbly). Then underneath the dash where the fuse box is at has multiple shorted wires as well. One of the main harnesses that go into it (the vertical one on the left) has about 6 wires that are destroyed. His fix was to wire the radio hot to the battery so that it worked but has to be taken off the battery each time you shut off the car and he mounted one of those lighted strips from walmart onto the dash. The car is a disaster. What would be my best bet for fixing it up? If it comes down to it a buddy of mine can rewire the whole car but not until I can get the money for all the harnesses. Any short term fixes? I have a toggle switch that I had thought about using for the radio but I am lost on the dash lights.
Old 11-14-2011, 12:30 PM
Redrocket part 2

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Sounds like it fried all the way to the fuse. check the fuse that runs to your acc. like dome light,dash light, stereo, antenna etc. If you can just put in a new fuse you will be lucky but you are gonna need to have the stereo re wired completely. get rid of any components that are not factory and start looking for someone parting the same car out and see if they will give you deals on the oem stuff you need. Id say start ripping out the junk and make it back to oem as possible then start your build dont try to cut corners it could land you with a burned down shell.

Current Cars