Honda/Acura Tech Honda tech discussion.

Question fo all you LS/VTEC fans

Old 04-16-2003, 01:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question fo all you LS/VTEC fans

it seems like everytime someone asks a question about building a motor, the majority of the people on this boards answer is "oh LS/VTEC all the way!" Theres alot people that say LS turbo too, but im not getting into that.

and everytime the question of the reliability comes up, the answer is "LS/VTEC is as reliable as you build it and/or the person that builds it"

my question is for all you LS/VTEC fans is: Is the money, time, and everything else you spend on getting your LS/VTEC built right so that it might be as reliable, worth the extra 37cc you get by having an LS block instead of a gsr block???

94+ GSR blocks = 1797cc 94+ LS blocks = 1834cc
Old 04-16-2003, 01:41 PM
Powered ByYo Mommas Mouth

well im more for the b16, i have read horror stories about ls's period, but hey im not a mechanic, im sure if you really strain any engine it will eventually give way, just ask my d-series block in my car now....i have heard the b16 is the most reliable and optimal for the smaller cars, but the gsr is for the med cars, and the type-r for the larger sedans and 4 doors, so its really comes down to you and money/time
Old 04-16-2003, 01:56 PM
GONZO SHAPED MEMBER

Originally posted by styles999
i have heard the b16 is the most reliable and optimal for the smaller cars, but the gsr is for the med cars, and the type-r for the larger sedans and 4 doors, so its really comes down to you and money/time
What are you talking about?
Old 04-16-2003, 01:58 PM
KJ
bored at work